Cebu CC finishes with aplomb, nails second straight PAL title

CEBU – Cebu Country Club completed a wire-to-wire triumph yesterday and achieved a Philippine Airlines Interclub first for the club by repeating as Men’s Regular champion yesterday on its home turf.

Mark Dy fired a two-under-par 70 worth 38 points and the next three scorers all chipped in 30 or more in a closing 132 that gave the Cebuanos a 16-point victory over young Alabang with their 507 total.

Marko Sarmiento fired 33 points, skipper Ramontito Garcia accounted for 31 and Eric Deen assembled 30 to complete scoring for Cebu CC, which finished with a flourish that it threw out the 28 of Japanese teenager Gen Nagai.

Del Monte returned 121 points built around Lawrence Cubillo’s 34 and was third another six points behind Alabang, which clearly stood out as the surprise package of the tournament, especially with Keanu Jahns cracking par for the second straight round at tough Cebu Country Club here.
Jahns, a 17-year-old half-German, fired a 40 and Jama Reyes contributed with 31 points as the Muntinlupa-based squad shot 125 points for 491 overall that announced its coming as a legitimate force in the country’s unofficial team championship.

“This is very sweet – back-to-back for the first time,” Garcia said. “This is a new era in PAL golf.”
Sta. Elena drew 37 points from Philippine Sports Commission chair Richie Garcia but had dismal contributions from the others to check in with a fourth round 105 and finish fourth at 383.
Cebu CC broke away from a tight tournament on the third day, when LJ Go, a 17-year-old awaiting a golf scholarship at Seton Hall in the United States, led a thorough taming of Mactan Island Golf Club on Friday that opened up a nine-point lead.

The eventual repeat champs actually had a tough start, shooting just 120 points on Wednesday – one of the lowest, if not lowest, rounds by any leader in the history of the tournament – at Mactan.
Dy, who failed to count with 26 points in the opening round at Mactan on Wednesday, had four birdies in the finest final round effort of his Interclub career, which could come to an end next week as he tries to qualify for the ICTSI Tour in Tagaytay.
Gabriel Manotoc contributed 28 points for Alabang, which counted the 26 of AR Ramos and discarded the 18 of Santi Lorenzo.

Ramos was the leading scorer for Alabang at Mactan on Friday with 34 but couldn’t get it going yesterday.

Reymon Jaraulla fired 31 and Magno Arancon and Jets Sajulga contributed 29 and 27 points, respectively for Del Monte, the 2011 winner which did not count the 26 points of Julius Bautista.
The PAL Interclub is being sponsored by the Department of Tourism, 105.1 Crossover, Solar Sports, Plantation Bay Resort and Spa, 92.3 FM Radyo 5, Araneta Coliseum and AXN. Major sponsors are Airbus, Manila Broadcasting Corporation, Philippine Broadcasting Network, People Asia, Radio Mindanao Network, Business Mirror and ABS-CBN The Filipino Channel (TFC).

Corporate sponsors include Radisson Blu Hotel, Shangri-La Resort & Spa, Boeing, Inquirer Golf Magazine, Philippines Graphic and Manila Bulletin.