16 February 2012
1st Day Senior's- PAL Interclub
DAVAO CITY – Luisita Golf Club surged on top, Canlubang stumbled and Cebu Country Club pulled a surprise on the first day of the Philippine Airlines Interclub seniors golf team tournament Thursday.

Playing at the Apo Golf and Country Club, the tougher of two courses being used in the four-day event, the Luisitans collected 147 points to take a six-point lead over CCC.

Meanwhile, defending champion Canlubang struggled with 135 points, drawing a pair of 47s from Dave Hernandez and Mari Hechanova. Tony Olives was the team’s third scorer with 41. Rene Unson did not count 39.

Mining Maravilla led Luisita with 51 points while Philippine Sports Commission chairman Richie Garcia added 49. Seve Roxas Chua rounded out scoring with 47. Rudy Amata did not count with 45.

Ramontito Garcia made a rousing debut with 53 points, the day’s best score, to lead CCC’s opening 141 points. Matsasugu Ochiai and Anton Florendo carded similar 44s while Nonoy Tirol failed to count for CCC with 43.

Iggy Clavecilla, Luisita’s outspoken captain, is not counting out Canlubang. “Mayayabang ang mga ‘yan. Babawi at babawi ‘yan,” said Clavecilla.

Fil-Am Hawaii grabbed a one-point lead over defending champion Chamorro in the Sportswriters division after scoring 124 points at the Apo Golf and Country Club.

Scoring for Fil-Am Hawaii were Billy Galindo (44), Jesse Magaday (41) and Willie Calliedo (39).
Lanang was running third with 122 points.

Over at the Rancho Palos Verdes Golf Club, Club Intramuros posted 113 points to take a nine-point lead over Brotherhood Sharp in the Friendship class. South Cotabato was in third place with 101 followed by Southbay with 100.

The 65th PAL Interclub is sponsored by Mareco Broadcasting Network, Radio High, Stargate Media and Media Five; while the major backers are Asia Brewery, Business Mirror and Airbus.

Also lending support are the Department of Tourism, Philippine Graphic, Boeing International Corp., GE, Bombo Radyo, Philippine Daily Inquirer, Manila Bulletin, Moevenpick Resort & Spa Cebu, Plantation Bay, Radisson Blu Hotel and Imperial Palace Waterpark & Spa Cebu.

The results:
Sportswriters – Fil-Am Hawaii 124, Chamorro 123, Lanang 122, Maharlika 116, Davao 110, PGA British Columbia 105, Veterans 105, Brookside 105,  Vancouver 104, Saranggani 102, Iloilo 102, SF Peninsula 101, Sienna Plantation 100, Zamboanga 97, Victorias 96, Guam Seals 95, SFO Crystal
Springs 95, Lumbia 91, UP Tee Jots 90, Forest Hills 88, Iligan 88,  Texas Golf 85, Paoay 77, Winners Circle 73.

Friendship – Club Intramuros 113, Brotherhood Sharp 104, South Cotabato 101, Southbay 100, Fil-Am SFO 98, Travelers 95, Taotaomona Guam 91, Leyte 89, Skywest 88, Mt. Malindang 87, Mabuhay SFO 86, Fil-Am Florida 85, SFO Alliance 81, Bay Area 79, Fort Bonifacio 77, Guam Seniors 76, Mabuhay Las Vegas 75, Par Breakers 70, MSU 69.


Watch out for exciting news to be announced soon!